Marketing: Social Media

What is social media marketing?

Social media marketing is a form of digital marketing that uses social media networks. The social nature of these platforms allows for conversations, connections and interactions.

Social media marketing strategies range from having a company blog and adding click-to-tweet links to organizing an extensive campaign that features a content-rich Facebook page, a Twitter account, an Instagram account and videos on YouTube.

Social media marketing provides an opportunity to gain earned media as an alternative to traditional, paid media advertising.

Earned media is free publicity distributed by third parties, as in press coverage and word-of-mouth marketing, generating greater visibility for a brand, product, or service. In social media this includes likes, mentions, shares, reposts, recommendations, and reviews. It is typically stimulated by public- and media-relations efforts (e.g. content creation, content sharing, paid influencers) but carries more credibility than paid media or owned media.

Find these key terms and more in Oxford Reference.

Social Media Marketing Course

The U.S. Small Business Administration's Social Media Marketing course is a 30-minute program designed to show you how to utilize social media marketing to grow your business. Learn research processes and strategies to help you harness the power of social media marketing. Features a social media marketing design checklist and action plan.

Podcasts

Facebook

Facebook (2004) The most popular global online social networking site, with over one and a half billion registered user accounts. The site encourages users to create a profile under their real name and to include details about themselves, typically including biographical information and interests.

• Chandler, Daniel, and Rod Munday. "Facebook." A Dictionary of Social Media: Oxford University Press. Oxford Reference. 2016.

Twitter

Twitter (2006) A social networking site and microblog.

• Chandler, Daniel, and Rod Munday. "Twitter." A Dictionary of Social Media: Oxford University Press. Oxford Reference. 2016.

Instagram

Instagram (2010) A photosharing app enabling users to post photographs and very brief video clips and to share them on a variety of social networking platforms. It includes digital filters which can be used to give photographs a more professional appearance.

• Chandler, Daniel, and Rod Munday. "Instagram." A Dictionary of Social Media: Oxford University Press. Oxford Reference. 2016.

YouTube

YouTube (2005) The most popular video streaming website and virtual community. Users can subscribe to and comment on the channels of uploaders. It is a striking example of the monetization of content through the generation of advertising revenue on the most popular channels. It was acquired by Google in 2006.

• Chandler, Daniel, and Rod Munday. "YouTube." A Dictionary of Social Media: Oxford University Press. Oxford Reference. 2016.