Research Guides: Marketing: Market Research

What is market research?

Market research is the identification of a specific market and study of the size, location and other characteristics. Market research tends to be factual and statistic based and can be described as the who or what of customers and markets.

Market segmentation is the process of aggregating customers into groups based on common characteristics and needs, where they are expected to respond similarly to marketing actions. Common types include geographic, demographic, psychographic (e.g. lifestyle, personality, values) and behavioral (e.g. level of product usage).

Market share compares sales for one product brand against total sales for all brands of the product.

Trends are the general direction of markets or prices and can vary in length from short, intermediate and long term.

Trade Associations

Trade associations related to a product or service are important sources of information for market research.

Databases

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Covers more than 23,000 organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
Covers more than 95,000 organizations

Websites

TradePub
Provides professional and technical research, white papers, case studies, magazines and eBooks in over 33 industries.

Government Resources

Direct Line Program
The U.S. Department of State's Direct Line Program lets U.S. businesses hear directly from Ambassadors and economic and commercial experts at over 260 Embassies and Consulates in over 190 countries. Staff are trained to identify promising market sectors and to help U.S. exporters capitalize on new opportunities.
Market Research and Competitive Analysis
The U.S. Small Business Administration's guide to finding customers, making your business unique and finding a competitive advantage.

Databases

These databases can be used remotely with an active Austin Public Library Card and password or by using a public computer or connecting a personal device to Library WiFi at any APL location.

AtoZdatabases
Reference and marketing database includes 30 million business profiles and 220 million residents.
Gale Business: Insights
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Includes market share reports.
Gale Business: DemographicsNow
Demographics data, market research and directory information on 24 million businesses and 206 million residents.
Austin Business Journal
Latest breaking business news and the Book of Lists.
Gale Directory Library
Includes the Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, the Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., Brands and Their Companies, National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations and The Publishers Directory.

SizeUpAustin
Data to help your small business make better decisions around competitive benchmarking, customers, suppliers, even marketing and advertising.

Demographics

CAMPO Regional Data and Maps
A collection of transportation-related data including a population and employment forecast provided collectively by the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO), Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and member jurisdictions.
City of Austin Demographics
Includes population histories and forecasts, comparative housing and age data, neighborhood reports and multifamily reports.
Key Industries in Austin
Top industry information from the Austin Chamber of Commerce.
Texas Demographic Center
Provides population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other demographic information.

data.census.gov
Provides information from the U.S. Census, the Economic Census and the U.S. American Community Surveys.
Esri's ZIP Lookup
Provides demographic and lifestyle information for particular ZIP codes. This information includes percentages of Nielsen PRIZM segments and their definitions, age, income and density.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides timely, relevant and accurate economic accounts data at regional, national and international levels.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Demographics
Provides data for specific demographic categories, including sex, age, race and ethnic origin. The BLS Consumer Expenditure Survey measures the spending habits of U.S. consumers and includes data on their expenditures, income and demographic characteristics.
U.S. Census 2010
Includes a Population Finder by State, Interactive Maps, Census Briefs and Reports and Summary Files.
U.S. Census Bureau - American Community Survey
Provides vital data about jobs and occupations, educational attainment, veterans, whether people own or rent their home and more.
U.S. Census Bureau - County Business Patterns
Provides subnational economic data by industry, including the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll and annual payroll.
U.S. Census Bureau - QuickFacts
Presents statistics for states, counties, cities.
U.S. Census Bureau - Topics
Presents statistics organized by theme.

Population Reference Bureau
Informs people around the world about population, health and the environment by providing the latest demographic data for the world, global regions and more than 200 countries and territories.
United Nations - Demographic and Social Statistics
Provides a variety of data sets, including population, housing, learning and education and more.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides timely, relevant and accurate economic accounts data at regional, national and international levels.
U.S. Census Bureau - International Database
Provides demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
U.S. Census Bureau - International Statistical Agencies
List of countries around the world and the national agencies that keep their statistics.

Books

U.S. Demographic Surveys
Includes The American Marketplace, Generation X, The Millennials and Older Americans.