Seeds & Sustainability: Central Library Seed Collection

What is the Seed Collection?

The Seed Collection is a joint project of the Austin Public Library and the Central Texas Seed Savers, a grassroots group of seed savers, gardeners, horticulturists and social activists that coalesced around the idea of establishing a repository and exchange system for seeds of land race, heirloom, locally adapted and native varieties of fruits and vegetable and other useful plants in Central Texas region. The Seed Collection is housed in the classic card catalog cabinet on the Austin Central Library's 6th floor. Everyone is welcome to "check out" and "return" seeds from the collection. If you have more questions about this project or would like to join our green gang, please Ask a Librarian.

Get Growing with the Seed Collection

The Seed Collection has taken root!

The Central Texas Seed Savers and the Austin Public Library are committed to supporting the local environment and community by sharing seeds and related knowledge through our programming and circulating collection. We believe that seeds are nutritional and historical suitcases which contain the potential for both physical and cultural sustenance. Seed collections like ours are intended to promote sustainability, self-sufficiency, food security and interpersonal exchange.

How does it work?

Browse the drawers, check out up to four seed packets per visit and record them on our checkout clipboard on top of the catalog cabinet. When you have extra seeds, keep the spirit alive with a donation. Fill out a form from drawer 19, and place it with the donation in drawer 20. If needed, you can find seed envelopes in drawer 21. The Seed Collection relies upon your contributions to keep it growing.

Join us for Seed Collection Gatherings, next up on 2/13 from 3–4:30 pm in the 1st Floor Demo Area.