Starting a Local Business:

Portal to business-related permits, small / minority business resources, common code violations, and more.

Supports the growth of new and existing businesses by providing capacity building information, tools, and resources. Provides counseling and assistance to small businesses.

Promotes and encourages minority, women, and disadvantaged business owners to participate in business opportunities with the City of Austin.

A nonprofit association dedicated to educating entrepreneurs and helping small businesses start, grow, and maintain their businesses.

Entrepreneurial education, tailored business counseling, and flexible loans.

Provides business loans up to $250,000 to Texas businesses that do not qualify for bank loans. It also provides client business assistance and education.

Provides free legal services for low income residents of the Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid service area to start or sustain their small business.

Learn the steps to start a small business, get financing help from the government, and more.

Guidance on the Texas Secretary of State's website.

Whether you are an aspiring entrepreneur or an established business owner, the Governor’s Small Business Resource Portal will provide you with the most relevant resources and contacts to help you find success. This important tool offers a customized list of useful business resources to assist you in starting or growing your business in Texas.

Handbook of resources and information on starting a small business, complied by the Texas State Governor's Office of Economic Development and Tourism.

Guidance on the Travis County Clerk's website.

Provides links to city code and charter, alcoholic beverage permits, and more.

Provides overview and links to department's environmental health services, including food handler's permits, public health regulations.

Provides state licensing information, application guides for retailers, wholesalers, and distributors.

Serves as the initial interface between the community and the City Planning and Development Review Department.

Local Amendments to the International Fire Code and the Fire Protection Criteria Manual.

Contact info, report request form, etc.

Guidelines, procedures and permits for all development outside corporate city limits in Travis County.

Provided by the Texas Department of Insurance.

Provided by the Texas Department of Insurance.

Provided by the Texas Workforce Commission.

Employment laws assistance for workers and small businesses, provided by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Administers OSHA's nationwide On-Site Consultation Program, but also serves as liaison and a point of contact within the agency for small businesses.

Publications, regulations and standards.

Enforces Federal laws prohibiting employment discrimination.

How employers can accomplish specific tasks through U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Texas tax FAQs, online help plus email assistance.

Provides overview of state taxes.

Provides info about state sales tax permits.

Lists offices in Austin and other Texas cities.

Provides federal tax info for businesses.