Adaptive and Assistive Features: Virtual Library

 

Our digital collection, which you can access entirely from home with your Library Card number and password, offers content with features that increase accessibility to patrons with disabilities. Don't have a Library Card? Apply online.

eBooks & eAudiobooks

OverDrive provides eBooks that allow you to select dyslexic font or to change the font size. It also offers an extensive eAudiobook collection. Here are links to some OverDrive FAQs that address accessibility issues:


cloudLibrary, Libby and hoopla allow you to change the font size in ebooks, and offer eAudiobook collections. cloudLibrary also allows you to select dyslexic font.


RBdigital offers eAudiobooks and eMagazines. RBdigital offers accessibility features on the RBdigital mobile app and its website.

The app offers:

  • text sizing and background color contrast on Android and iOS devices
  • screen reading on iOS

The website is compatible with VoiceOver, TalkBack, JAWS, NVDA and Windows Narrator, and includes the AudioEye Toolbar which has a full range of accessibility features:

  • Visual Toolkit—Customize the visual display of the page by changing text/background color and contrast, fonts, spacing, focus, cursor size and more. Enhance comprehension by using the Reading Guide, which allows the user to underline as they read.
  • Player—Listen to web content read aloud via a built-in player and text-to-speech functionality
  • Site Menu—Simplifies and optimizes the site menu for keyboard users and individuals with cognitive disabilities
  • Page Elements Menu—Built-in keyboard shortcuts for quick navigation

Click on the blue accessibility button in the lower right-hand corner of the screen to activate the AudioEye Toolbar as shown below:

Screenshot of RBdigital website with arrow pointing to AudioEye Toolbar (blue circle with white figure icon in lower right hand corner of screen)

The AudioEye Toolbar will pop out on the right side of the screen, showing options for the Visual Toolkit, Player and Help Desk.

Screenshot showing AudioEye Toolbar Options in the bottom right of screen

Open the Visual Toolkit by clicking the top button (green with a white circle and four squares inside it). The Visual Toolkit will appear at the bottom left of the screen:

Screenshot showing Visual Toolkit Options in black bar at bottom left of screen

 

 

Video

hoopla endeavors to provide closed captioning for all video content when available. You can view their accessibility statement by clicking on the PDF below.

Kanopy offers accessibility features for visually impaired users and deaf/hard of hearing users, as follows:

  • Kanopy's website and video player works with screen reader technologies on desktop browsers, as well as iOS and Android devices. 
  • Keyboard navigation is supported for all browsers and the video player allows users to tab into the player from elsewhere on the web page or browser.
  • Closed captioning is available for all video content.
  • Kanopy is working to upgrade their video player to support audio description and are experimenting by adding audio description with some pilot films for users. Following this, they will be able to make audio described versions of films when available from our content partners. 

For Kids

The TumbleBook Library is a collection of animated, talking picture books for children in English, Spanish and French. The Chapter Books collection allows readers to change the colors of the background and text, as well as the font style, size and line spacing.

Some children's eBooks in the OverDrive collection also include narration.

hoopla also offers a number of eBooks with read-along technology that can be streamed to devices (Chromecast, Roku, Apple TV).