The Jade Room music venue in Austin, TX, PICA 37398
| A Brief History of Austin's Live Music Scene |
| Architectural Archives |
| Archives & Manuscripts Collection |
| Oversize Archives |
| Austin Files -- Subject: Text and Photographs |
| Austin Files -- Biography: Text and Photographs |
| Austin Files -- House/Building: Text and Photographs |
| General Collection |
| Map Collection |
| Periodicals |
| Recording Collection -- Audio |
| Recording Collection -- Video |
| Additional Resources |
For years, Austin, Texas has been known as the “Live Music Capital of the World,” a slogan which was officially adopted in 1991 “after it was discovered that Austin had more live music venues per capita than anywhere else in the nation”: Austin has more than 200 live music venues, and over 1,900 bands and musicians living in and around the city (AustinRelocationGuide.com, 2016). Many attribute the birth of the city’s music scene to places like Armadillo World Headquarters and the Broken Spoke, two famous music venues that saw a wealth of musical acts come through their doors from the mid- to late-20th century, including Willie Nelson, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Janis Joplin, and more. Different eras witnessed the rise of different genres in the city: in the 1970s, Austin was marketed as a “Second Nashville,” while the 80s and 90s saw the city turn towards blues, punk, and new wave.
In 1989, the City Council established the Austin Music Commission for the purpose of advising the council on the development and integration of the music industry in Austin. The board was made up of members of the music community, including band manager Shannon Vale; Richard May, musicians’ advocate and the one who pushed to have the Commission created; and Nancy Coplin, the board’s first chair. Still in existence today, the Commission deals with issues ranging from sound impact plans for outdoor events to land use for live music venues.
In addition to local performances, Austin gained notoriety for its music festivals: the South by Southwest (SXSW) festival, which began in 1986 as a regional music conference, has become internationally renowned and features musical performances from famous artists. The Austin City Limits (ACL) music festival began in 2002 and now hosts over 130 artists every year at Zilker Park. Its first incarnation was on television; created in 1974 by KLRU, the pilot episode featured Willie Nelson performing live. It was broadcast on PBS for 43 years and is the longest running music series in TV history. Due to the success of the TV series and music festival, the ACL Live at the Moody Theater opened in 2011 and now hosts more than 100 shows each year. Further expansion saw the creation of the Austin City Limits Radio in 2018, playing artists from the TV show, festival, and live venue.
The late 1990s witnessed an upward trend in the Austin economy, meaning increased rent prices and property taxes, which resulted in many iconic music venues closing, like Steamboat on 6th Street and Liberty Lunch in 1999. Today, it’s becoming harder and harder for musicians to live in the city, making people question the validity and appropriateness of the city’s slogan.
The collections of the Austin History Center contain valuable research materials that document Austin’s famous live music scene over the years. The materials in this resource guide are arranged by format, including textual and photographic items as well as audio and video.
*Information compiled using the Austin American-Statesman, AustinRelocationGuide.com, Music Commission meeting minutes, and “How Austin Did Become the Live Music Capital of the World” via KUTX.org.
Emo's music venue in Austin, TX, PICA 34363
The Architectural Archives Collection contains drawings and renderings produced by local architectural firms and individuals donated to or acquired by the Austin History Center. The plans for current and past music venues and performance centers in Austin can be found within the collection.
|
3DI-7701 FF-001/MISC |
Architect: 3D/International Project: Paramount Theater – Restoration, 1977 |
|
BH-79012 FF-178/BH |
Architect: Bell, Klein & Hoffman Project: Paramount Theater, 1979-1980 |
|
EL-2000010 FF-045/EL |
Architect: Emily Browning Little Project: The Hideout, 2000 |
|
KIN-8033 FF-6/KIN |
Architect: Kinney & Stone, Inc. Project: Club Foot |
|
WUK-7126-7127 FF-52/WUK |
Architect: Wukasch & Associates Project: Symphony Square-Hardeman House & New Orleans Club – Restoration, 1973-75 |
|
WUK-7129 FF-12/WUK |
Architect: Wukasch & Associates Project: Symphony Square-Hardeman House & New Orleans Club Building, 1972-1973 |
|
WUK-7552 FF-51/WUK |
Architect: Wukasch & Associates Project: Symphony Square – New Orleans Club, 1976 |
The Archives and Manuscripts Collection contains primary research materials about people, organizations, governments, and businesses in Austin and Travis County. The collections below are arranged by call number. For detailed information about specific collections, please refer to the archives finding aids located in the Reading Room or online at Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO). Band posters, photographs of live performances, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper clippings, and other materials concerning Austin’s live music scene can be found in the Archives and Manuscripts Collection.
|
Collection Number |
Title, Date, Description |
|
AR.1991.026 |
Women’s Symphony League of Austin Records, 1953-2005 The Women's Symphony League of Austin (WSL) was established on June 18, 1953 with the stated purpose to promote the interests of the Austin Symphony Orchestra. The scrapbooks, yearbooks and programs in this collection span the years 1953-2005 and document the activities of the organization from its very beginnings. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.1997.004 |
Camacho Family Papers, 1850-2005 The Camacho family was a well-known and respected name in the East Austin community. They were active in local politics, Austin social issues, and the Mexican-American community in Austin. Included in the collection are posters, pins, and other materials related to the Austin Aqua Festival from the 1960s to the 1990s. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.1997.005 |
Wednesday Morning Music Club Records, 1923-2016 The Wednesday Morning Music Club was established in 1923 at the studio of Minnie Sneed Wilcox, who served as its first president from 1923 to 1941. The purpose of the group was to promote music and its appreciation in the Austin community. Included in the collection are club minutes, yearbooks, and “achievement” books, which contain clippings, printed items, and photographs. A guide to the collection is available on-site. |
|
AR.1998.012 |
Austin Opera Records, 1987-2014 The Austin Lyric Opera (ALO) was founded in 1986 by Joseph McClain and the late Dr. Walter Ducloux, who envisioned it as a dynamic company that would enrich, entertain, and educate the community. Within the collection are programs, event flyers, and posters for Austin Lyric Opera performances and other special events. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2001.002 |
The Villager Newspaper Photograph Collection, 1973-2013 The Villager Newspaper was started in 1973 by Tommy L. Wyatt and continues to publish weekly. The focus of the newspaper is the African American community in Austin, Texas, especially those individuals and businesses in East Austin. Within the over 4,500 photographs are images of various musicians, venues, and live performances around Austin. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2001.007 |
Austin (Tex.). Austin Music Network, 1992-2004 The Austin Music Network was produced by Austin’s Cable Channel 6. It was cancelled in 2005. Within their records are newspaper clippings and press releases on the Austin music scene. A guide to the collection is available on-site. |
|
AR.2002.004 |
Tim Kerr Papers, 1979-2001 Tim Kerr is a musician and visual artist based in Austin, Texas. He has played with such bands as the Big Boys, Poison 13, and Bad Mutha Goose and the Brothers Grimm. The Tim Kerr Papers contain materials that document these three bands through posters, clippings, t-shirts, and memorabilia. Additionally, collected zines, magazines, and clippings document punk culture, skateboarding, and music in Central Texas in the 1980s and early 1990s. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2002.019 |
Getting Better All the Time Singers (G-BATTS) Records, 1987-2000 The Getting Better All the Time Singers (G-BATTS) were a group organized by Liz Carpenter in 1987. The event programs and flyers, sheet music, correspondence, photographs and membership information in this collection highlight the activities of the group from 1987 to 2000. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2002.021 |
Jared Connor Posters, 2000-2003 Jared Connor was a popular music poster artist who lived in Austin, Texas. His collection contains about 50 posters, highlighting various bands, as well as many music clubs/venues in Austin. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2002.035 |
Brian Curley Posters, 1979-2006 Brian Curley was a music poster artist in Austin, Texas, as well as a member of a local band called the Delinquents. His collection contains about 80 posters promoting an assortment of bands, as well as various music venues located in Austin, Texas and other national venues. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2003.035 |
Jaime Ward Posters, 2002-2005 Jaime Ward is an Austin based poster artist who utilizes silk screening to create vivid music posters. The collection contains approximately ten music posters advertising music shows at various music venues, and both local and well-known bands and musicians. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2004.008 |
Kerry Awn Posters, 1974-2004 Kerry Awn is a poster artist, musician, and comedian from Austin, Texas. His poster collection contains about 250 music posters advertising shows for local bands at various Austin venues. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2004.010 |
Nels Jacobson Posters and Papers, 1982-1992 Nels Jacobson, also known as "Jagmo," moved to Austin, Texas in the late 1970's where he founded Jagmo Studios, a design firm specializing in graphic arts for the entertainment industry. The collection contains approximately thirty-seven music posters for shows at various Austin venues. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2004.027 |
Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau Records, 1874-2005 The Austin Convention and Visitors Bureau markets Austin, Texas both nationally and internationally as a destination for trade and travel. The collection dates from 1874 to 2005 and contains materials both produced and collected by three divisions of the Austin Convention and Visitors Bureau: the Film Commission, Music Office, and Heritage Marketing. Within the Music Office division are notices of meeting, agendas, minutes, handwritten notes, annual reports, attendance lists, and memoranda covering Austin Music Commission meetings from 1989-2003, and biographies, clippings, flyers, press releases, and video and audio cassettes, collected by the Music Office for over 350 local artists. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2005.017 |
Jaime Cervantes Posters, 2001-2003 Jaime Cervantes is a music poster artist in Austin, Texas, as well as a member of the band Sleepy Giant. The collection contains approximately thirty music posters for shows by various bands at different music venues around Austin. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2005.021 |
Billy Perkins Posters, 1994-2004 For over 20 years, Billy Perkins has been designing rock posters, CD packages, and other graphics. He received a BFA in Commercial Art from Texas State University. Within his poster collection are about 37 music posters advertising shows by various bands and musicians at different music venues around Austin, Texas. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2010.029 |
SXSW, Inc. Records, 1986-2018 SXSW, Inc. began in 1986, as a regional music conference launched by Roland Swenson, Louis Jay Meyers, Louis Black, and Nick Barbaro. Starting as a small, regional conference SXSW has grown over the years, adding the SXSW Film and Media Festival in 1994, and the SXSW Multimedia Festival in 1995, renamed the Interactive Festival in 1998. This collection contains documents, print materials and recordings generated by SXSW over its first 25 years of existence. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2011.020 |
Martha Grenon Photographs, 1988-2001 Originally from Detroit, Michigan, Martha Grenon became a photographer and has travelled around the world documenting her art. She lives in Austin, Texas, and has documented the South by Southwest (SXSW) music festival and conference from 1998 to 2001 with her photographs. Included in the collection are 169 black-and-white photographs of famous and up-and-coming bands and musicians performing at the festival, and candid scenes during the festival. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2011.032 |
Gregory K. Sells Photographs, 1994-2002, 2010 Greg Sells is a hobbyist photographer who has developed a passion for the Austin music scene and has photographed musical performances often. 119 4x6" black-and-white and color photographs document the South by Southwest (SXSW) music festival and conference in Austin, Texas from 1994 to 2002 and 2010. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2012.018 |
David Thomson Emo’s Posters, 1982-2002 Donated by a former Emo’s employee, David L. Thomson, this poster collection consists of approximately 125 musical performance posters created by different artists for various music venues location in Austin, Texas, the majority of which are for Emo’s. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2014.003 |
George H. Kane Poster Collection, 1973-2009 George H. Kane operated a poster and record store called Treasured Tracs & Images in Austin, Texas, from 1983 to 2002. The George H. Kane Poster Collection contains approximately 500 posters that document music and community events in Austin from the 1970s to early 2000s. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2014.028 |
Michael Martin Video Collection, 1982-1985 This collection consists of a variety of video live footage of local artists and video clip shows featuring a variety of music genres. These were produced whilst Michael Martin was manager of PASE Inc. Video. Music videos and band interviews can be found in the collection. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2014.043 |
Andrew Long Photographs, 1984-2000 Andrew Long is visual artist, photographer, dancer, and choreographer based in Austin, Texas, as well as co-founder and former Artistic and Executive Director of the Johnson/Long Dance Company. His collection contains photographs, primarily of musicians, from his work as a freelance photographer for several publications, including the Austin Chronicle. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2018.043 |
Ann Hudspeth Photographs, 1980-2000 Ann Hudspeth is a native Austinite who has been an active member of the LGBTQ+ and progressive political communities during her adult life. Her collection of photographs documents life in Austin in the 1980s and 1990s and includes the Austin music scene. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2018.051 |
Gretchen Phillips Papers, 1982-2018 Gretchen Phillips is a musician who resided in Austin, Texas for much of her life. She is known for writing and performing songs that fall in the "lezzie rock" genre, which contain lesbian, feminist, and political themes. This collection contains clippings, posters, songbooks, press materials, and memorabilia from her various Austin-based bands, including Two Nice Girls, Girls in the Nose, and The Gretchen Phillips Experience. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2019.004 |
Bill Leissner Photograph Archive, 1980-1990 The Bill Leissner Photograph Archive consists of 254 digitized photographic images (.tif) documenting the music, culture, and politics of Austin, Texas during the 1980s and early 1990s. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.2019.016 |
Cindy Light Photograph Collection, 1986-1990 The Cindy Light Photograph Collection consists of 53 digitized photographic images (.jpg) documenting the Joe Ely Band's performances in Austin from 1986-1990 at venues including the Austin Opera House, Liberty Lunch, Gruene Hall, City Coliseum, Stubb's BBQ, Austin Music Awards, and Freedom Fest. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.R.006 |
Austin Lyric Opera Program and Poster Collection, 1987-2014 The Austin Lyric Opera (ALO) was founded in 1986 by Joseph McClain and the late Dr. Walter Ducloux. In 2008 the Long Center for the Performing Arts became the permanent performance home for the ALO. Within the collection are programs, event flyers and posters for Austin Lyric Opera performances and other special events dating from the founding production of The Magic Flute to the current day. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.R.022 |
Calico Printing Posters, 1972-1978 Calico Printing operated in Austin, Texas, during the 1970s and worked largely with poster artists. The collection consists of 64 posters created by 15 different artists, documenting various musicians and bands that performed at Armadillo World Headquarters, Antone's, Austin Opry House, and other local venues from 1972 to 1978. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
|
AR.Z.021 |
Austin Aqua Festival Records, 1962-1988, 1993-1996 Austin Aqua Festival was a multi-day festival conceived by the Austin Chamber of Commerce and held in August from 1962 to 1997. Within the collection are newspaper clippings, photographs, programs, brochures, and recordings documenting the events of the festival, including the bands who performed live there. A guide to the collection is available on Texas Archival Resources Online. |
Willie Nelson Playing Guitar at South by Southwest, Lisa Davis Photograph Collection
The Oversize Archives contains items that are too large to store with the Austin Files or with the Archives and Manuscripts collection. It contains certificates, posters, broadsides, diplomas, artwork, and other oversize documents. Posters and broadsides depicting local bands, music venues, and music festivals can be found within the Oversize Archives.
|
Box 003/075 |
Poster: Collins, Albert, Concert poster for Collins along with Bill Campbell, House Rockers, The Fabulous Thunderbirds and Jimmie Vaughan, 7/22-23. |
|
Box 003/077 |
Poster: Priest, Micael, The Ramones: Hot & Nasty Punk & Roll, with special guest Aalon, 7/14/77. |
|
Box 005/003 |
Poster: Willie Nelson and Family, Waterloo Music Festival and Street Dance, 4/8-9/1978. |
|
Box 006/031 |
Poster: Yeates, Sam, Armadillo World Headquarters 6th Birthday Party with Balcones Fault and Chastity Fox. 08/07/1976. |
|
Box 007/025-086 |
Posters: The entirety of the Calico Printing Posters collection (AR.R.022), which features 64 posters of various bands and musicians who performed at different music venues around Austin, 1972-1978. |
|
Box 008/043 |
Poster: Jim & Stevie Vaughan & Friends Jam @ The South Door, February 1973. |
|
Box 009/038 |
Poster: Mayor Frank Cooksey invites you to Urban Fest. A night of Austin Music, June 1, 1986. |
|
Box 011/022 |
Poster: Willie Nelson, Austin Opry House First Birthday,1977-78. Danny Garrett, artist. |
|
Box 012/007 |
Poster: SXSW90. Music and media conference. March 15-18. Poster and list of performers (2 items). |
|
Box 014/032 |
Poster: Traditional Music Festival, undated. |
|
Box 014/067 |
Poster: Music Umbrella-Austin Songwriters Festival, undated. |
|
Box 014/072 |
Poster: Commander Cody and the Lost Planet Airmen at Antone’s, 1980. |
|
Box 014/073 |
Poster: Walker (Jerry Jeff) at Antone’s, 1980. |
|
Box 014/074 |
Poster: Muldaur (Maria) at Antone’s, 1980. |
|
Box 014/075 |
Poster: Asleep at the Wheel at Antone’s, 1980. |
|
Box 014/076 |
Poster: King (Freddie) at Armadillo World Headquarters, 1975. |
|
Box 014/077 |
Poster: Pointer Sisters at Armadillo World Headquarters, 1974. |
|
Box 014/078 |
Poster: Jo Jo Gunne at Armadillo World Headquarters, 1973. |
|
Box 016/005 |
Poster: New Year’s Bash: Austin Outhouse. Come Save Austin’s Greatest “Live” music venue, undated. |
|
Box 016/074 |
Poster: Big Boys and US d.r.i. at Nitelife music poster, undated. |
|
Box 016/075 |
Poster: X and Big Boys at Nightlife, undated. |
|
Box 016/094 |
Poster: X - Exene Cervenka, Billy Zoom, John Doe, DJ Bonebrake at Emo's, undated. |
|
Box 017/004 |
Poster: Mark Mueller, Paula Wilson and the Mueller Law Office present Two Wings: an Evening with Jimmie Vaughan and the Tilt-a-Whirl Band Live at Austin’s Backyard, August 9, 1997. |
|
Box 017/023 |
Poster: Antone’s: Austin’s Home of the Blues. Tommy Shannon, Stevie Vaughan, Chris Layton, undated. |
|
Box 017/031 |
Poster: Cat’s & Dogs at Antone’s, undated. |
|
Box 019/001 |
Poster: 1995-96 Austin Music Awards at Palmer Auditorium |
|
Box 019/002 |
Poster: Super Nova at Emo's, 1995. |
|
Box 019/024 |
Poster: Commander Cody and the Lost Planet Airmen and Asleep at the Wheel at Armadillo World Headquarters, 1980. Last show at the Armadillo. |
|
Box 019/053 |
Broadside: Concert Poster, Emo’s, Print by Jamie Ward, undated. |
|
Box 043/045 |
Poster: 47 Times Its Own Weight, musical group, undated |
|
Box 043/053 |
Poster: 5th Annual Austin Musicians Appreciation Supper, October 12, 1993 (signed by artist Kevin Combs). |
|
Box 043/068 |
Poster: Antone’s Austin’s Home of the Blues featuring Jimmie Vaughan, Angela Strehli, Keith Ferguson, and Kim Wilson, undated. |
|
Box 043/069 |
Poster: Antone’s Austin’s Home of the Blues featuring Jimmie Vaughan and Muddy Waters, undated. |
|
Box 043/098 |
Broadside: Willie Nelson & Family at the Waterloo Music Festival Street Dance, April 8 & 9, 1978. |
|
Box 045/009 |
Broadside: 2006 Keep Austin Weird 5k and Music Festival, August 26, 2006. |
|
Box 045/032 |
Broadside: The Shakin' Apostles playing at Continental Club, Saxon Pub, and Roadhouse Café, undated. |
|
Box 045/067 |
Broadside: Austin Latino Music Association Presents Sonidos Del Barrio, October 2, 2001. |
|
Box 045/079 |
Broadside: The Roots of the Live Music Capital: A Free Concert Supporting the Cepeda Music Garden, undated. |
|
Box 045/097 |
Broadside: 18th Annual Old Settler's Music Festival, April 21-24, 2004, Salt Lick BBQ Pavilion & Camp Ben McCulloch. |
|
Box 048/001 |
Poster: Nina Katrin at Maggie Mae's, undated. |
|
Box 048/028 |
Broadside: Live Under the Oaks, Del Castillo, October 29, 2004, Austin Music Hall. |
|
Box 048/056 |
Broadside: Urban Music Festival, April 8, 2006, Auditorium Shores. |
|
Box 064/014 |
Poster: Advertisement for Willie Nelson concert--preview of album "Phases & Stages," 1974. |
|
Box 064/020 |
Poster: Advertisement for performance by The Butch Hancock Band--poster by Guy Juke, 1977. |
|
Box 064/021 |
Poster: Advertisement for New Year's Eve at Antone's, with performances by the Thunderbirds, Double Trouble, and the Cobras--poster by Danny Garrett, 1977. |
|
Box 064/036 |
Poster: Alvin Crow Country Music, undated. |
|
Box 064/043 |
Poster: Splahs Day: Stevie Vaughan & Double Trouble, undated. |
|
Box 071/006 |
Poster: Austin World Music & Jazz Fusion Festival, WobeonFest, Sept 11-13, 2015. |
|
Box 078/002 |
Poster: SXSW 2003 The Polyphonic Spree @ Austin Music Hall and Stubb's BBQ. |
|
Box 080/001 |
Broadside: Save Live Music!!! Vote Against the Smoking Ban, undated. |
|
Box 080/027 |
Poster: Uranium Savages, Soap Creek Saloon, March 9-10, 1979. Poster by Kerry Awn. |
|
FF 03/02/004 |
Poster: Social Distortion with the Hangmen at Stubb's BBQ, June 9, 2002. |
|
FF 03/02/009 |
Poster: Armadillo World Headquarters "Coming Up" music calendar. |
|
FF 03/04/001 |
Posters: Kollective Fusion/Bobby Dixon music posters (approx. 30). |
|
FF 04/02/003 |
Posters: SXSW posters - music, film, interactive/multimedia, showcases plus NXNW, NXNE. |
|
FF 04/05/001-002 |
Posters: Music venue posters for Emo’s, created by Lindsay Kuhn. |
|
FF 04/05/003 |
Posters: Music venue posters for Emo’s, created by Frank Kozik. |
|
FF 04/05/004 |
Posters: Music venue posters for Emo’s, created by various artists. |
|
FF 04/05/005 |
Posters: Music venue posters for Emo’s, created by unknown artists. |
|
FF 04/05/006 |
Posters: Music venue posters for other venues (besides Emo's) in Austin, Texas. |
|
Rolled 01/005 |
Banner: Street banner "Live Music Capital of the World" by Robert R. Jones, 1997. |
The Austin Files – Subject contain a variety of clippings, photographs, and ephemera related to the City Council of Austin. Please note that photographs, if available, are filed separately from the text files. A “T” indicates a text file, and a “P” indicates a photo file. Information concerning various bands, musicians, music halls, symphonies and orchestras, as well as the live music industry in general can be found within the Austin Files.
Johnny Simmons Band, 1949, PICA 30020
The Austin Files – Biography contain clippings, photos, and ephemera about Austin and Travis County residents who have contributed to the community. Information about various Austin musicians, music venue owners, and other influential members of the music industry can be found within the files.
|
|
Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble, PICA 32964
The Austin Files – House/Building contains clippings, reports, and ephemera related to structures in Austin and Travis County. Arranged by street address. Information about several live music venues around Austin can be found within the House/Building Files.
| Address | Description |
|
1308 E. 4th Street
515 E. 6th Street
120 W. 6th Street
207 W. 18th Street
200 Academy Drive
6416 N. Lamar Boulevard
603 Red River Street
801 Red River Street |
Red’s Scoot Inn music venue.
Flamingo Cantina music venue.
Former location of the Café Josie.
Originally Turner Hall, now the Scottish Rite Theater music venue.
Original location of the Austin Opera House.
Original Threadgill’s restaurant and music venue.
Emo’s bar and music venue. Stubb’s BBQ music venue. |
The General Collection contains books, pamphlets, and local government reports. Titles are arranged by call number. Yearbooks are listed separately at the end of the list.
This list is by no means an exhaustive list of every title held by the Austin History Center that relates to live music in Austin; that can be accomplished by a keyword search in the Austin Public Library online catalog. This list is an attempt to identify General Collection items that provide a historical perspective or address Austin’s live music scene. Within the collection are biographies, memoirs, event programs, and reports about Austin musicians, venue owners, and the Austin music industry over the years.
|
Call number |
Title |
Date |
|
A 331.881178 AU |
Constitution, By-laws, Scale of Prices and Roster of the Austin Musicians Union, Austin, Texas, Local No. 433, American Federation of Musicians, Organized June 8, 1907 by Austin Musicians Union |
1911 |
|
A 338.7617 AR |
Armadillo World Headquarters By Armadillo Productions, inc. |
1975 |
|
A 338.7617 ME 1985 |
Music, Media and the Metropolis: The Case of Austin’s Armadillo World Headquarters by Menconi, David |
1985 |
|
A 384.8097 UE 1985 |
A Proposal for the Establishment of An Austin Film, Video & Music Commission by |
1985 |
|
A 700.976431 EC |
The Economic Impacts of the Arts and Entertainment Industries of Austin, Texas |
1987 |
|
A 725.8109764 WI |
Armadillo World Headquarters: A Memoir By Wilson, Edwin O. |
2017 |
|
A 741.674 HO |
Homegrown: Austin Music Posters 1967-1982 |
2015 |
|
A 741.674092 GA |
Weird, Yet Strange By Garrett, Danny |
2015 |
|
A 741.6740976 WI V1 |
Big Book of Austin Punk-era Posters and Images By Wing, Chris |
2003 |
|
A 779.9782421 GO |
Big Boys Dicks By Goodman, Mark |
2015 |
|
A 780.0354 AU |
Texas Perspectives: The Role of Music in the Austin Economy By Austin (Tex.). Financial & Administrative Services Department. Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs |
2001 |
|
A 780.0354 AU |
The Austin Music Census: A Data-driven Assessment of Austin’s Commercial Music Economy |
2015 |
|
A 780.0354 AU773 |
Austin Music: Into the Future By Austin (Tex.). Music Advisory Committee |
1985 |
|
A 780.0354 HE |
Then and Now: 2005-2015 by Health Alliance for Austin Musicians |
2015 |
|
A 780.2576431 ME 1980 |
Mellow Pages |
1980 |
|
A 780.29209764 AU 1986-87 |
Austin Music Industry Directory |
1987 |
|
A 780.729764 AU 1925-26 |
Annual Announcement of the Austin Conservatory of Music by Austin Conservatory of Music |
|
|
A 780.9764 GU |
Guide to Live Music Venues |
2012 |
|
A 780.9764 SX |
SXSW Scrapbook: People and Things That Went Before |
2011 |
|
A 780.976411 BE |
Music and Music Teaching in Austin By Beaver, Frances |
|
|
A 780.976431 AU 2008 |
FY 2008 Austin Music Memorial Nominations By Austin (Tex.). Cultural Arts Division |
2008 |
|
A 780.976431 TU |
Music in the City: A History of Austin Music By Turley, Alan C. |
2000 |
|
A 781.57 RE |
The Improbable Rise of Redneck Rock By Reid, Jan |
1974 |
|
A 781.62 CO |
Hot Jams & Cold Showers: Scenes From the Kerrville Folk Festival By Cortez, Dyanne Fry |
2000 |
|
A 781.63 ER |
Openers II: The Lyrics of Roky Erickson By Erickson, Roky |
1995 |
|
A 781.6409764 AC |
ACL Music Fest: Rockin’ Coverage 2002-2011 |
2012 |
|
A 781.6409764 AU |
The Austin Chronicle Music Anthology |
2011 |
|
A 781.6409764 CR |
My Life…, Before I Forget It! By Crooks, Danny |
2013 |
|
A 781.6409764 DO |
Never Heard of’em: Austin’s Music Explosion, 1994-2000 By Donahoe, Sue |
2011 |
|
A 781.6409764 FE |
Festivals in Austin, Texas |
2010 |
|
A 781.6409764 MU |
Music of Austin, Texas |
2010 |
|
A 781.6409764 SH |
Identity, Community, and Postmodernity: The Rock’n’Roll Scene in Austin, Texas By Shank, Barry |
1991 |
|
A 781.6409764 ST |
Sonobeat Records: Pioneering the Austin Sound in the ‘60s By Stein, Richard Joseph |
2014 |
|
A 781.6409764 ST |
The Sound of Austin: Portraits By Sturtevant, Matthew |
2012 |
|
A 781.6409764 WI |
The Austin Music Scene, 1965-1994: Through the Lens of Burton Wilson By Wilson, Burton |
2001 |
|
A 781.642 KO |
Making and Unmaking A Progressive Country Music Scene in Austin, Texas By Korn, Matthew |
2012 |
|
A 781.642 OP |
Willie Nelson Sings America! By Opdyke, Steven |
1998 |
|
A 781.642 ST |
Space, Place, and Protest: Austin’s Progressive Country Music Scene and the Negotiation of Texan Identities, 1968-1978 By Stimeling, Travis D. |
2007 |
|
A 781.6420976 ST |
Cosmic Cowboys and New Hicks: The Countercultural Sounds of Austin’s Progressive Country Music Scene By Stimeling, Travis D. |
2011 |
|
A 781.6430976 B9196 |
In the Shadow of Austin, Texas By Burkes, Major Lee |
2000 |
|
A 781.65 CL 1989 |
Clarksville/West End Jazz & Arts Festival |
1989 |
|
A 781.66 DI |
The Dicks |
2008 |
|
A 781.66 TI |
Tim Kerr |
2008 |
|
A 781.66074 ST |
These Are the Days By Stokes, Matt |
2009 |
|
A 781.66079 OF |
Official Program: 2008 Austin City Limits Music Festival |
2008 |
|
A 781.66092 ER448R V1 |
The Roky Erikson Story |
1986 |
|
A 781.660922 LA |
The Thirteenth Floor Elevators and the Origins of Psychedelic Music in Austin, Texas |
1998 |
|
A 781.6609764 PR |
Home Today, Gone Tomorrow: Snapshots From 40 Years on the Road: Austin and Back By Proct, Mark |
2014 |
|
A 781.6609764 SH |
Dissonant Identities: The Rock’n’Roll Scene in Austin, Texas By Shank, Barry |
1994 |
|
A 781.6609764 TU |
The Social and Ecological Determinants of the Production of Original Rock Music in Austin, Texas By Turley, Alan C. |
1998 |
|
A 782.421642 N338N |
The Facts of Life And Other Dirty Jokes By Nelson, Willie |
2002 |
|
A 782.421642 N432N |
It’s A Long Story: My Life By Nelson, Willie |
2015 |
|
A 782.42166 J744E |
Scars of Sweet Paradise: The Life and Times of Janis Joplin By Echols, Alice |
1999 |
|
A 782.4216609 J744J |
Love, Janis By Joplin, Laura |
1999 |
|
A 782.4216609 S9415S |
Never the Same Again: A Rock ’n’ Roll Gothic By Sublett, Jesse |
2004 |
|
A 784.5200924 N338F |
Willie Nelson Family Album By Fowler, Lana Nelson |
1980 |
|
A 784.5200924 N338N |
Heart Worn Memories: A Daughter’s Personal Biography of Willie Nelson By Nelson, Susie |
1987 |
|
A 784.5200973 EN |
Austin City Limits By Endres, Clifford |
1987 |
|
A 784.53 AN C1986 |
Antone’s Presents Pictures the Blues: Eleventh Anniversary By Antone, Susan |
1986 |
|
A 784.54 RA |
Rabid Cat Records |
1985 |
|
A 784.54 TH |
The 13th Floor Elevators |
1984 |
|
A 787.8716609 V4653P |
Stevie Ray Vaughan: Caught in the Crossfire By Patoski, Joe Nick |
1993 |
|
A 791.4572 DA |
Austin City Limits: 25 Years of American Music By Davis, John T. |
2000 |
|
A 791.4572 LA |
Austin City Limits: A History By Laird, Tracey E. W. |
2014 |
|
A 791.4572 LA |
Austin City Limits: A Monument to Music By Laird, Tracey E. W. |
2015 |
|
A 791.4572 |
Austin City Limits: 35 Years in Photographs By Newton, Scott |
2010 |
|
A 792.7097643 MI |
The Broken Spoke: Austin’s Legendary Honky-tonk |
2017 |
|
A 921 J745F |
Buried Alive: The Biography of Janis Joplin By Friedman, Mrya |
1973 |
The Map Collection contains items that illustrate the boundaries and features of Austin and Travis County and trace changes in the growth of the area. The map collection does not contain any information relevant to the live music scene in Austin.
Small conjunto band, including a guitar and an accordion, play next to a building in the Montopolis neighborhood, PICA 35903
The Periodicals Collection includes newspapers, magazines, and newsletters published in or about Austin and Travis County. The collection is arranged alphabetically by title. Titles can be found by looking in the Periodical Index, located in the Reading Room. Date spans are listed in order to give the researcher an idea of what is available but this does not mean that the entire run of a periodical for that date span is necessarily available.
Publications covering live music performances in Austin, musical societies, bands, and the music industry in the city can be found in the Periodicals collection.
The Austin History Center has on microfilm a complete run of the Austin American-Statesman (AAS) since its founding in 1871. Refer to the following guide for more information about the AAS and how to access it: Austin American Statesman Resource Guide.
|
Title/Organization |
Date Span |
|
A Mozart Fest: Newsletter A. Mozart Fest |
1997 – 2000 |
|
Acoustic Music Austin Acoustic Music Austin |
Oct 1994 – Sept 1995 |
|
All the Rage cenTX Publishing |
1995 |
|
AMF Events & News Austin Music Foundation: Internet letter |
July 27, 2017 – May 30, 2018 |
|
Atmosphere Atmosphere Magazine |
Dec 1989 |
|
ATX Music Mag/Music & Entertainment Unknown |
Jan, 2011 – Mar, 2011, Dec, 2017 |
|
Austin Blues Monthly Austin Blues Monthly |
May 1994 – May 1996 |
|
Austin Chamber Music Center – Concert Series Austin Chamber Music Center |
2000 – 2006 |
|
Austin Chamber Music Center Newsletter Austin Chamber Music Center |
Summer 1989 – Winter 2000 |
|
Austin Choral Artists Concert Newsletter Austin Choral Artists |
Oct 1998 – May 2000 |
|
Austin Choral Union News Austin Choral Union |
Mar 1997 – May 1998 |
|
Austin Chronicle Austin Chronicle Corporation, The |
Sept 1982 – Nov 10, 2007 |
|
Austin Classical Guitar Society: ACGS Ovations Austin Classical Guitar Society |
Feb 1998 – Jan 2007 |
|
Austin Cut, The The Austin Cut |
Jan 2012 – Summer 2013 |
|
Austin Gilbert & Sullivan Society Newsletter Gilbert & Sullivan Society of Austin |
Nov 1982 – June, 2018 |
|
Austin Guitar Society News Austin Guitar Society |
June 1979 – July 1980 |
|
Austin Jazz Guide Austin Jazz Guide |
June 2005 – Aug 2005 |
|
Austin Jazz Messenger Austin Traditional Jazz Society |
Sept 1997 – May 2003 |
|
Austin Latino-Conexion Austin Latino-Conexion |
Mar 2003 – Dec, 2004 |
|
Austin Lyric Opera: Programs Austin Lyric Opera |
1993 |
|
Austin Music Magazine Austin Music Magazine |
2006 – 2008 |
|
Austin Music Monthly Texas Music Association, Austin Chapter |
May, 1994 |
|
Austin Music Progressive Country Austin American-Statesman |
July, 1974 |
|
Austin MusicMag Fuller, Niles J. |
Mar, 2004 |
|
Austin Notes Baker, Doug |
Aug, 1977 – Nov, 1977 |
|
Austin ProChorus News Austin ProChorus |
Dec, 2000 – July, 2001 |
|
Austin Vocal Arts Ensemble Austin Vocal Arts Ensemble |
Dec, 1997 – Apr, 1999 |
|
Best In Texas Music Magazine Best In Texas Music Marketing |
July, 2007 – Summer 2011 |
|
Bluegrass Newsletter Poa Co., The |
Apr, 1977 – Apr/May, 1987 |
|
Broken Spoke E-Newsletter Broken Spoke |
Oct, 2007 – Jan, 2008 |
|
Buddy: The Original Texas Music Magazine Burns, Stoney |
June, 1975 – Apr, 1976 |
|
Cadenza Capital City Men’s Chorus |
Oct, 1991 – Sept, 1992 |
|
Central Texas Bluegrass Bulletin Central Texas Bluegrass Association |
May, 1993 |
|
Chamber Musings Austin Chamber Music Center |
Spring 2000 – Fall 2004 |
|
Choir Caper Newsletter Austin Children’s Choir |
Apr 30, 1997 |
|
Club En Tu Idioma Club Hispanic Publications |
Dec, 2003 |
|
Concert Notes Austin Symphonic Band |
Feb, 2000 |
|
Conspirare Craig Hella Johnson & Company of Voices |
May, 2003 – Summer 2007 |
|
Country Gazette Buster Doss |
Apr, 1976 – Jan, 1979 |
|
Country Rhythms Country Rhythms, Inc. |
Feb, 1982 – Jan, 1985 |
|
Defunk’s Press: The Texas Music and Entertainment Magazine Big Head Records |
Dec, 1988 – Jan, 1990 |
|
Don’t Label It! Don’t Label It! |
Mar, 1997 |
|
Duck Butter Unknown |
Mar, 1983 – June, 1983 |
|
Encore: The Austin Symphony Newsletter Austin Symphony Orchestra |
1967 |
|
Eyes & Ears: Bulletin of Austin’s Video, Film, and Music Industries Austin Chamber of Commerce |
Spring 1989 |
|
Fat Kid 2 Unknown |
1990s |
|
Feature Magazine Feature Magazine |
July, 1990 – Jan/Feb, 1992 |
|
Feedback Magazine Voxy Media |
Nov/Dec, 2002 – Fall 2003 |
|
Highlights Austin Convention Center & Visitors Bureau |
June, 1998 – Feb, 2000 |
|
KMFA: Fortissimo KMFA 89.5 FM |
Sept/Oct, 2000 – Summer 2003 |
|
KMFA: Music For Austin, Program Guide KMFA 89.5 FM |
Sept, 1968 – Aug, 2000 |
|
Lamb Music Magazine, The Lamb, The |
Sept, 1979 – Nov, 1979 |
|
Microcosm, The Unknown |
Mar, 1983 |
|
Mike’s Feedback Mike’s Feedback |
Oct, 1995 – Mar, 1997 |
|
Misprint Misprint Magazine |
July, 2005 – May, 2009 |
|
Mostly Music Magazine Unknown |
Nov, 1993 |
|
Music & Entertainment Division News City of Austin Economic Development |
Apr, 2018 – July, 2018 |
|
Music Biz Breakdown: The Austin Music Business Report Austin Music Industry Council |
Mar 15, 1990 – Apr 15, 1990 |
|
Music City: All the Austin Music that’s Fit to Hear Music City |
Sept, 1989 – Jan, 1997 |
|
Music Umbrella of Austin Newsletter Music Umbrella of Austin |
Nov, 1977 – Aug/Sept, 1983 |
|
Musica Musica |
Sept, 1970 – Mar, 1998 |
|
Musician Connection, The Menticore Productions |
Mar, 1995 |
|
News and Notes from the Austin Choral Union Austin Choral Union |
Fall 1987 – Spring 1988 |
|
News Notes Austin Chamber Music Center |
Winter 1998 |
|
Not Fade Away: The Texas Music Magazine Hanners (Doug) and Deron Bissett |
Fall 1975 |
|
Notes Music Umbrella of Austin |
May, 1983 – Feb, 1989 |
|
Page Boy Unknown |
1990s |
|
Pop Culture Press Pop Culture Press |
Fall/Winter 2002 |
|
Rank and Revue Red River Review |
Jan, 2003 – Jan, 2005 |
|
Rare Magazine Rare Austin |
Fall 2005 – July/Aug, 2010 |
|
Reel Times Austin Friends of Traditional Music |
Apr, 1978 – Sept, 2010 |
|
Rockstar Magazine Russel Dowden |
Sept, 2013 – Feb, 2018 |
|
Rumors Freewater Bookin’, Inc. |
June, 1978 |
|
Shelf Life Unknown |
Sept, 1994 – Mar, 1995 |
|
Skin and Bones Unknown |
Feb, 1988 – Dec, 1988 |
|
Sluggo Sluggo |
1984 |
|
Society Page, The Austin Handel-Hayden Society |
May, 1995 – Jan, 1996 |
|
Sound Effects Austin Symphony Orchestra |
Summer 1989 |
|
Soundcheck Magazine Soundcheck |
Mar, 2006 – Sept, 2009 |
|
Soundpost Friends of the Austin Symphony |
May 1984 – Jan, 1987 |
|
South By Southwest Music and Media Conference South by Southwest (SXSW) Interactive Conference and Multimedia Festival |
Mar, 1987 – 2018 |
|
Spread Spread |
July, 1993 – Oct, 1994 |
|
Stage Scene Stage_Scene |
June, 2005 – July, 2005 |
|
SXSW (Combined Program) SXSW |
2013 |
|
Symphony, The Austin Symphony Orchestra Society |
Jan, 1976 – Apr, 1980 |
|
Symphony Square Austin Symphony Orchestra Society |
Mar, 1981 – 1982 |
|
Symphony Square Committee Newsletter Austin Symphony Orchestra Society |
Apr, 1979 – June, 1984 |
|
Take Note Women’s Symphony League of Austin |
Oct, 1981 – Sept, 1989 |
|
Tejano Music News Adelante Publishing |
July, 1996 |
|
Texas Music Texas Music |
Winter 2000 – Spring 2018 |
|
Texas Music Catalog Waterloo Records |
2000 |
|
Texas Noteables Texas Noteables Historical Music Museum |
Apr, 1980 – June, 1982 |
|
Third Coast Music/3rd Coast Music 3rd Coast Music |
Feb, 1997 – Dec, 2012 |
|
Tom Swatzell’s International Fan Club Newsletter Tom Swatzell’s International Fan Club |
Dec, 1995 – Winter 1997 |
|
Vivace Chorus Austin |
Fall 1999 – Winter 2000 |
|
Vivace! Austin Civic Chorus |
Oct, 1995 – Mar/Apr, 1999 |
|
Voice Mail Austin Vocal Arts Ensemble |
Spring 1997 |
|
Westlake Picayune Western Roundup, The |
1982 |
|
Xiphoid Process Xiphoid Process Fanzine |
Sep 1983, undated |
The Setters, 1992, Martha Grenon Photographs Collection
The Recording Collection contains individual audio recordings donated or acquired by the Austin History Center. This list is in order by tape number – a list in alphabetical by subject and then by interviewee last name is available on the Austin History Center website.
Many of the oral histories have been transcribed and copies placed in AF-biography files. Interviews about bands, musicians, record stores, music venues, and the live music scene in Austin can be found within the collection.
|
Tape Number |
Subject |
Recording Date/Transcription |
|
0023-A |
Kuse, Edna (Besserer) (1885- ) interviewed by Hart, Katherine about the Scholz Beer Garden. |
October 6, 1967/AF – Biography Bresserer, Charles William
|
|
0031-B |
Wright, Katherine Electa (1882-1973), interviewed by Lee Seymour about the founding of the Austin Symphony. |
November 1, 1968/AF – Biography Wright, Edward B. |
|
0058 |
Geezinslaw Brothers Are Live (And Well?) performance recording |
July 1, 1968/No Transcription |
|
0090 |
Wilson, Eddie interviewed by Jan Reid and Don Roth for Texas Monthly about Armadillo World Headquarters and Austin music venues and saloons. |
June 21, 1973/AF – Biography Wilson, Eddie |
|
0097-A |
Threadgill, Kenneth (1909-1987) interviewed by Ellen Moore about Austin music venues and live performances. |
February 13, 1974/AF – Biography Threadgill, Kenneth |
|
0097-B |
Hearne, Bill and Bonnie Dell (Cross) interviewed by Moore, Ellen about music in Austin. Tape 1 of 2. |
May 13, 1974/AF – Biography Hearne, Bill |
|
0098-A |
Hearne, Bill and Bonnie Dell (Cross) interviewed by Moore, Ellen about music in Austin. Tape 1 of 2. |
May 13, 1974/AF – Biography Hearne, Bill |
|
0108 |
Wilson, Eddie interviewed by Robert Heard about the live music and music venues in Austin. |
June 26, 1974/AF – Biography Wilson, Eddie |
|
0111-A |
Murphey, Michael interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin. |
Undated/AF – Biography Murphey, Michael Martin |
|
0111-B |
Wier, Rusty interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin. |
May 8, 1974/AF – Biography Wier, Rusty |
|
0113-A |
Faulk, John Henry (1913-1990) interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about Janis Joplin and Kenneth Threadgill. |
November 7, 1973/AF – Biography Faulk, John Henry |
|
0113-B |
Threadgill, Kenneth (1909-1987) interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about Janis Joplin. Tape 1 of 2. |
October 24, 1974/AF – Biography Threadgill, Kenneth |
|
0114-A |
Threadgill, Kenneth (1909-1987) interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about Janis Joplin. Tape 2 of 2. |
October 24, 1974/AF – Biography Threadgill, Kenneth |
|
0114-B |
Stanford, Ray interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin. |
September 13, 1974/No Transcription |
|
0158-A |
Walker, Jerry interviewed by Bob Armstrong about music in Austin. |
May 21, 1975/AF – Biography Walker, Jerry Jeff |
|
0159-B |
Threadgill, Kenneth (1909-1987) interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM, continued from Tape 0158-B, Tape 2 of 2. Topics include music and lunchrooms in Austin. |
June 24, 1975/AF – Biography Threadgill, Kenneth |
|
0164-A |
Goodman, Stevie interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin (Side A). |
December 13, 1975/AF – Music M9300 (1) 1970s |
|
0164-C |
Weir, Rusty, Selman, Wallace, & Harvey, Alex interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM, discussing music venues in Austin and the Texas Opry House (Side B). |
November 8, 1974/No Transcription |
|
0165-B |
Amster, Pearl (1908-1968) interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM, discussing classical music in Austin. Tape 1 of 2. |
January 3, 1975/AF – Biography Amster, Pearl |
|
0178 |
Wilson, Eddie interviewed by Tom Park and Dave Mason of KLBJ radio Sunday News Magazine about the Armadillo World Headquarters and its financial difficulties seven years after opening. |
August 14, 1977/Transcription Missing |
|
0181 |
O’Connor, Tim interviewed by Ellen Moore about the Castle Creek saloon and other music venues in Austin. |
June 2, 1976/AF – Saloons S0300 (15) |
|
0183-A |
Murphey, Michael interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about Geronimo’s Cadillac and music in Austin. |
February 15, 1974/AF – Biography Murphey, Michael |
|
0188 |
Hattersley, Cleve interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the Greezy Wheels and other bands in Austin. |
March 16, 1976/No Transcription |
|
0190-B |
The Uranium Savages interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM at the Great World’s Fair in Fredericksburg, discussing the band and their activities around Austin. |
June 4, 1976/No Transcription |
|
0191-A |
Bridger, Bobby interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin. |
January 17, 1975/AF – Biography Bridger, Bobby |
|
0191-B |
Bridger, Bobby interview continued; Stone, Jade and Debby (of Cumberland Gap) interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin. Tape 1 of 2. |
January 6, 1975/AF – Music-Country & Western M9320 (16), Cumberland Gap |
|
0196-A |
Shaw, Robert interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about blues singer Bessie Smith. |
Undated/AF – Biography Shaw, Robert |
|
0196-B |
Shaw, Robert interview continued; Ventura, Michael interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin. |
March 17, 1975/AF – Biography Ventura, Michael |
|
0607 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
June 10, 1975/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
0613 |
Clark, Guy interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about country music and how Austin changed after the early 1960s. |
January 14, 1976/AF – Biography Clark, Guy |
|
0646 |
Siegel, Shawn interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band Shiva’s Headband, and the Armadillo World Headquarters. |
Undated/AF – Biography Siegel, Shawn |
|
0647 |
Allred, Sammy interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band Geezinslaw Brothers and music in Austin. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Allred, Sammy |
|
0656 |
Asleep at the Wheel musical group radio interview by Art Young. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0658 |
Larry Raspberry radio interviewed by Art Young about music and the band the High Steppers. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0659 |
Professor Longhair (musician) radio interview by Art Young about music in Austin. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0660 |
Pointer Sisters radio interview by Art Young about music in Austin. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0662 |
Fred Harris, King Biscuit radio interview by Art Young about music in Austin. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0691 |
Heardon, Marcia, ethnomusicologist at the University of Texas interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about music in Austin. |
January 1, 1978/AF – Biography Hearndon, Marcia |
|
0699 |
Balcones Fault musical group interview with Jacobs, Jack, and Kimbro, conducted by Art Young for KRMH-FM, discussing music in Austin. |
October 1, 1974/AF – Music M9320 (3) |
|
0710 |
Rusty Weird interview conducted by Art Young for KRMH-KIXL about music in Austin. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0720 |
Tom Rush radio interview conducted by Art Young about music in Austin. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0766-C |
Austin Aquafest Festival Band live recording. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0785 |
Lubbock Lights, volume 1. Tommy Hancock and the Supernatural Family Band. Recorded by Don Caldwell and Mark Murry at the Texas Spoon Café & Bar in Lubbock, Texas. |
January 1, 1986/No Transcription |
|
0787 |
Lubbock Lights, volume 1. Tommy Hancock and the Supernatural Family Band. Recorded by Don Caldwell and Mark Murry at the Texas Spoon Café & Bar in Lubbock, Texas. |
January 1, 1986/No Transcription |
|
0830 |
150th Fanfare, recorded by the University of Texas’ Wind Ensemble, Austin’s sesquicentennial Fanfare and Birthday Celebration, Capital Grounds. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0845 |
Ramsey, Willis Alan interviewed by Reid, Jan about music in Austin. |
July 1, 1973/No Transcription |
|
0847 |
Friedman, Richard “Kinky” interviewed by Reid, Jan about, among other things, the Austin music scene. Continuation of Tape 2313. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
0848 |
Kennedy, Rod interviewed by Reid, Jan about the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1970/AF – Biography Kennedy, Roderick |
|
0850 |
Rodriquez, David interviewed by Milligan, Amanda at KUT FM radio station, with musical recordings, about the Austin music scene. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
1333-A |
The Sweet Adelines singing at the Elks Club. |
August 26, 1976/No Transcription |
|
1588 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
June 10, 1975/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
1598 |
Hattersly, Cleve interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the Austin music scene. |
March 16, 1976/No Transcription |
|
1599 |
Side B: Uranium Savages (musical group) interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM at the Great World’s Fair in Fredericksburg about their music career and the Austin music scene. |
June 4, 1976/No Transcription |
|
1609 |
1991 Festival – Institute at Round Top; Texas Festival Orchestra Live Performance Highlights. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
1615 |
Wilson, Eddie interviewed by Robert Heard about the Armadillo World Headquarters |
June 24, 1974/AF – Biography Wilson, Eddie |
|
1926 |
Ramos, Alfonso interviewed by Ricardo De La Fuente about Mexican-American civil rights and music in Austin. Tape 1 of 2. |
April 25, 1997/AF – Biography Ramos, Alfonso |
|
1927 |
Ramos, Alfonso interviewed by Ricardo De La Fuente about Mexican-American civil rights and music in Austin. Tape 2 of 2. |
April 25, 1997/AF – Biography Ramos, Alfonso |
|
2005 |
Clark, Guy interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about country music and how Austin changed from the early 1960s. |
January 14, 1976/AF – Biography Clark, Guy |
|
2006 |
Clark, Guy interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about country music and how Austin changed from the early 1960s. |
January 14, 1976/AF – Biography Clark, Guy |
|
2007 |
Clark, Guy interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about country music and how Austin changed from the early 1960s. |
January 14, 1976/AF – Biography Clark, Guy |
|
2055 |
Heardon, Marcia, ethnomusicologist at the University of Texas, interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1978/AF – Biography Hearndon, Marcia |
|
2056 |
Heardon, Marcia, ethnomusicologist at the University of Texas, interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1978/AF – Biography Hearndon, Marcia |
|
2067 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
2068 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
2069 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
2073 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
2074 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
2075 |
Friedman, Jeffrey Mark, and Richard “Kinky” Friedman interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about, among other things, the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Friedman, Richard “Kinky” |
|
2076 |
Allred, Sammy of the Geezinslaw Brothers musical group interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band and the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Allred, Sammy |
|
2077 |
Allred, Sammy of the Geezinslaw Brothers musical group interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band and the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Allred, Sammy |
|
2078 |
Allred, Sammy of the Geezinslaw Brothers musical group interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band and the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Biography Allred, Sammy |
|
2101 |
Balcones Fault (musical group) interview with Jacobs, Jack and Kimbro, Cary conducted by Art Young for KRMH-FM about performing and the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1978/AF – Music M9320 (3) |
|
2102 |
Balcones Fault (musical group) interview with Jacobs, Jack and Kimbro, Cary conducted by Art Young for KRMH-FM about performing and the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1978/AF – Music M9320 (3) |
|
2103 |
Balcones Fault (musical group) interview with Jacobs, Jack and Kimbro, Cary conducted by Art Young for KRMH-FM about performing and the Austin music scene. |
January 1, 1978/AF – Music M9320 (3) |
|
2107 |
Siegel, Shawn interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band Shiva’s Headband and the Armadillo World Headquarters. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Music M9300 (S) |
|
2108 |
Siegel, Shawn interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band Shiva’s Headband and the Armadillo World Headquarters. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Music M9300 (S) |
|
2109 |
Siegel, Shawn interviewed by Art Young for KRMH-FM about the band Shiva’s Headband and the Armadillo World Headquarters. |
January 1, 1976/AF – Music M9300 (S) |
|
2312 |
Tolleson, Mike (Side A) and Price, Michael (Side B) believed to be interviewed by Reid, Jan about the Austin music scene. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
2313 |
Friedman, “Kinky” interviewed by Reid, Jan about the Austin music scene. Continued on Tape 0847. |
Undated/No Transcription |
|
2339 |
Bridger, Bobby interview about the Austin music scene. Tape 1 of 2. |
January 1, 2000/AF – Biography Bridger, Bobby |
|
2340 |
Bridger, Bobby interview about the Austin music scene. Tape 2 of 2. |
January 1, 2000/AF – Biography Bridger, Bobby |
|
2341 |
Fromholz, Steven interview about the Austin music scene. Tape 1 of 2. |
January 1, 1974/No Transcription |
|
2342 |
Fromholz, Steven interview about the Austin music scene. Tape 2 of 2. |
January 1, 1974/No Transcription |
|
2345 |
Bobby Bridger interview about the music and bands in Austin. Tape 1 of 2. |
Undated/AF – Biography Bridger, Bobby |
|
2346 |
Bobby Bridger interview about the music and bands in Austin. Tape 2 of 2. |
Undated/AF – Biography Bridger, Bobby |
|
2427 |
Ramos, Ruben interviewed by Michelle Leigh Moreau about his music and the Austin music scene. Tape 1 of 2. |
October 16, 2002/AF – Biography Ramos, Ruben |
|
2428 |
Ramos, Ruben interviewed by Michelle Leigh Moreau about his music and the Austin music scene. Tape 2 of 2. |
October 16, 2002/AF – Biography Ramos, Ruben |
|
2491 |
Walker, Reverend Billy Jo interviewed by Riles, Karen about African-American music and Juneteenth. Tape 1 of 2. |
November 8, 2000/AF – Biography Walker, Billy Joe; AF – A1300 African-Americans – General |
|
2492 |
Walker, Reverend Billy Jo interviewed by Riles, Karen about African-American music and Juneteenth. Tape 2 of 2. |
November 8, 2000/AF – Biography Walker, Billy Joe; AF – A1300 African-Americans – General |
|
2513 |
Perez, Ernest interviewed by Irene Gonzales about Conjunto and Tejano music. |
September 17, 2003/AF – Biography Perez, Ernest |
|
2733 |
Ogden, Bob interviewed by Karen Riles about saloons around Austin. Part 1 of 2. |
July 21, 2006/No Transcription |
|
2734 |
Ogden, Bob interviewed by Karen Riles about saloons around Austin. Part 2 of 2. |
July 21, 2006/No Transcription |
|
3103 |
Mulholland, Dave interviewed by Schooley, John about the Tower Records store in Austin and its closure in 2004, general record stores in Austin, and the SXSW music festival. |
November 7, 2009/No Transcription |
|
3106 |
Daniels, Jeff (a.k.a. Walter) interviewed by Schooley, John about working at the Sound Exchange records store on the Drag in the mid-90s, as well as the underground music scene at that time and various local music venues. |
January 16, 2010/No Transcription |
|
3129 |
Boyle, Patrick interviewed by Schooley, John about the Skyline Club and other saloons around Austin. |
April 19, 2012/AF – S0300 (67) Skyline Club |
|
3154 |
Fukunaga, Glenn interviewed by Chung, Esther about Asian-American music and performing around Austin. |
October 12, 2012/No Transcription |
|
3242 |
Kehaunani, Gwyn and Bass, Robert interviewed by Grace Hansen about the music of the Eagle Point Singers and the Native American community. |
May 8, 2014/AR.2015.030 |
Lee Atwater & Albert Collins Performing at Antone's, Lisa Davis Photograph Collection
The Recording Collection contains individual video recordings donated or acquired by the Austin History Center. Video recordings can be found in the online catalog or as part of an archival collection. The lists below are organized by which collection the recording can be found in. Live music performances, documentaries, and minutes from the Austin Music Commission can be found within the collection.
Catalogued
|
Call Number |
Title |
|
A DVD 781.6409764 AU |
MusicTexas.com. Austin Groove Volume 1: 30 Years Inside Austin’s Music, 2003
|
|
A DVD 976.431 DO |
Downtown Austin Alliance. Downtown Season Three: as Austin as It Gets, 2008?
|
|
A DVD MUSIC AUS |
Austin Music Network. Limited Edition 1000, the Reel Austin, Vol. 2
|
Channel6
|
Title |
Date |
Format/Note |
|
Music Commission |
10/10/1995 |
VHS |
|
Live from the Plaza (originally Concert Series) |
5/5/2005 |
DVD |
Austin Files Videos
|
Tape ID |
Title |
Date |
|
00001 |
“Austin Music Video Archives” |
2009 |
|
00002 |
“Austin – Live Music Capital of the World” |
1998 |
|
00121 |
“Austin: Live Music Capital of the World” |
Undated |
|
000064 |
“An Austin Medley” |
1989 |
|
00065 |
“An Austin Medley: 150 Years of Austin Music Exhibit” |
1989 |
|
00066 |
“KXAN News: Austin History Center Celebrates 150 Years of Austin Music” |
1989 |
|
00011 |
“Austin: It’s Music to Your Ears” |
1990s |
|
00012 |
“ACVB Live Music Capital of the World UT version” |
2000 |
|
00114 |
“Kathy & the Kilowatts Live at Antones” |
2017 |
|
00161 |
“Graham Reynolds performance at Brush Square, SXSW 2015” |
2015 |
|
00173 |
“Austin Music Poster Art Celebration 2004” |
2004 |
|
00128 |
“Austin Music Awards – March 2003” |
2003 |
|
00238 |
“IRS The Cutting Edge Show – Austin 1985” |
1985 |
|
|
“The Reel Austin, Vol. 1” |
2002 |
|
|
“The Reel Austin, Vol. 2” |
2003 |
|
|
“Margaret Moser Class at UT – Class 1” |
2013 |
|
|
“Margaret Moser Class at UT – Class 2” |
2013 |
|
|
“Margaret Moser Class at UT – Class 3” |
2013 |
|
|
“Margaret Moser Class at UT – Class 4” |
|
|
|
“Texas Legends: The Paramount Theater” |
2006 |
|
00075 |
“Austin Aquafest Music” |
1994 |
The Broken Spoke music venue in Austin, TX, PICA 34393
The Texas Music Office Resource page allows people to find venues, musicians, and music-related businesses in Texas. The website can be found at:
https://gov.texas.gov/music/page/resources.
The thesis Live Music Capital of the World? The Effects of Austin's Urban Branding on Its Local Musicians by Katherine Bryant talks about how Austin’s branding as the “Live Music Capital of the World” has affected the living and working conditions of its local musicians. It breaks down how Austin developed a thriving music scene, how the city government got involved, what the conditions of the music scene are today, and offers potential methods of improvement for Austin musicians. A description and location for this work can be found at:
https://repositories.lib.utexas.edu/bitstream/handle/2152/65331/bryantkatherine_hesis_Live%20Music%20Capital%20of%20the%20World__2018.pdf?sequence=2&isAllowed=y
The Austin Music Census was commissioned in 2015 by Don Pitts, the Manager of the City of Austin’s ATX Music and Entertainment Office. It is a detailed survey of Austin’s commercial music industry and was undertaken in order to make plans to encourage growth in the city’s music industry. The data comes from almost 4,000 interviews with Austin musicians and music industry operators and can be found at:
https://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Austin_Music_Census_Interactive_PDF_53115.pdf.
Published September 29th, 2004, “Remembering the ‘80s Austin Rock Scene” features rock historian Ed Ward commenting on the burgeoning rock scene in Austin, Texas during the 1980s. This interview can be found at:
https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=4052981.
Gary P. Nunn Performing on Stage at Austin City Limits 15th Anniversary Show, Lisa Davis Photograph Collection