Research Guides: Company Information: Public Companies

Databases

These subscription databases can be used remotely with an active Austin Public Library Card or on the public computers at any of our locations.

Gale Business: Insights
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world.
Factiva
More than 32,000 sources from over 150 countries in 28 languages, company reports, and current & historical market data. Click on Companies/Markets and then Company at the top of the database page. In the Get Company Snapshot section, search by company name or ticker.
Morningstar Investing Center
Independent reports on 30,000 mutual funds, stocks and ETFs for the individual investor. Find SEC filings, including financials, announcements, proxy, and insider activities.
AtoZdatabases
Reference and marketing database includes 30 million business profiles and 220 million residents.

A wealth of information can be found on company websites. Find company websites using your preferred search engine.
EDGAR
Through EDGAR, the SEC provides 10-K, 20-F, proxy statements, some annual reports, and other financial statements.
Rank and Filed | SEC filings for humans
Rank and Filed gathers data from EDGAR, indexes it, and returns it in formats meant to help you research, investigate, and discover companies. Free access to filings and financial data.
SecForm4.com
Real-time insider trading data, SEC form 4, insider trades, insider buying and selling data. The SEC requires Insider, Institutional and Beneficial shareholders to file forms disclosing their share ownership in public companies. Insiders are people who own 10% of the companies stock, officers and directors.

Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
Profiles 600 U.S. public companies with annual sales between $10 million and $2.5 billion that have been determined to have strong sales growth and profitability (sustained annualized sales growth of at least 7% over a three year period).
Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Profiles 750 of the largest public and private U.S. enterprises according to sales and number of employees whose annual revenue exceeds $2 billion.
Understanding Financial Statements by Lyn M. Fraser
Fraser and Ormiston take readers behind the financial reports to assess the real financial condition and performance of U.S. companies.
Annual Reports 101 by Michael C. Thomsett
An annual report is a powerful and revealing document about a company's financial standing. This ultra-practical guide shows you how to thoroughly translate and read "between the lines' of the balance sheet, income statement, cash flow report, and the accompanying text.