How to Use the Catalog: My Lists

What is a List?

Lists are collections of up to 100 items based on a theme. Drafts are visible only to you. You can choose who sees your Published Lists

When an item is on a visible list, that list is linked on the item's info page. This is useful for finding similar titles.

Create a List

  1. Go to My APL: My Lists and log in if prompted.
     
  2. Select  
     
  3. Choose a list category:
    • For Guides and Recommendations, choose a list type and then add a title and description.
    • For If You Liked, add the primary comparison item. In the Because... box tell people why they will like the items you plan to add. 

Add Items from List View

  1. Go to My Lists and click a list.
     
  2. Select Add to List
     
  3. Choose Catalog Item or Web URL.
    For Catalog Item, enter the title or author and click magnifying glass Search button.
    For Web URL, enter the website and the item title or enter the website and click Okay.

    Catalog Item and Web URL are two tabbed options.
     
  4. Complete the next screens depending on the item type:

    Catalog Items: Click + Add (small screens will show only a plus sign). It will appear on your list.

    + Add is shown on an item.

    Web URL: Enter the URL and click Add.
     
  5. If you want changes visible to others, publish/republish your list.
    If you want changes visible only to you, your list will become a draft until you publish/republish it.

Add Items from a Search

  1. After searching the catalog, click an item's title to see its information page.
     
  2. Select + Add. This is on the right side on wide screens and further down the page on small screens.

    Arrow indicating the +Add link next to Listed heading.
     
  3. Choose Create a New List to start fresh or Existing Lists, where you can pick +Add to Draft (for lists with an existing draft) or Create Draft & Add (to lists you've already published that don't have a draft).
     
  4. If you want changes visible to others, publish/republish your list.
    If you want changes visible only to you, your list will become a draft until you publish/republish it.

Annotate, Reorder + Delete Items

The Tacos of Texas has a link to Add Annotation, up and down arrows to move it, and a trash can icon to delete it.Annotate: To add a short note about an item, go to My Lists, click a list's name and click Add Annoatation. Enter your note and click Save.

Reorder: To move items, click-and-drag anywhere on the item or use the up/down arrows.

Delete: To remove an item, click the trash can icon

Publish a List

When you edit or add items to a list, your changes are auto-saved as a draft. If you want these changes to "go live" so others can see them, you must publish your list (or re-publish it, if you've published it in the past) and choose who can see it. Here's how:  

  1. If needed, go to My Lists and click the list.
     
  2. Select the red button, Finished Editing...
     
  3. Choose who can see your list:

    Four options are shown with notes: 1: Everyone: Public to all. 2. People in a specific location: Choose USA, Texas or in my library - users in only that location will be able to see it. 3. Anyone with the link: People can't search for it, but anyone with the link can see it. 4 Only me:This keeps the list private to you.
     
  4. Select Publish.